Press Release Main Event


Baton Rouge, LA – 3/14/2023 – The Louisiana Charter Schools in Action (LCSA) hosted its first Charter Champions and Education Champions awards ceremony on March 14, 2023, at the City Club of Baton Rouge. The ceremony recognized outstanding individuals who have contributed to providing high-quality charter schools and education options for the students of Louisiana.

 The winners of the Charter Champion award are:

Rep. Lance Harris, Chair of Education Committee

Rep. Barbara Freiberg, House Ed Committee member and bill author

Sen. Beth Mizell, Senate President Pro Tempore and Senate Ed Committee member

Sen. Robert Mills, Senate Ed Committee member

Sen. Sharon Hewitt, Chair of the Senate and Governmental Affairs committee and outspoken charter school supporter 

Sen. Kirk Talbot, Senate Ed Committee member and bill author

These Charter Champions were recognized for their leadership and support of charter school measures that uphold high standards of accountability while also providing operational autonomy to public charter schools. Their efforts have helped ensure that Louisiana’s charter schools continue to offer innovative and high-quality education for all students.

Additionally, the Education Champion award was presented to a number of legislators who consistently supported charter public school choice options when the opportunity was presented to them. These Education Champions include numerous House and Senate committee members who were instrumental in passing important legislation that provided additional options for students and families in Louisiana.

The Education Champion awards were bestowed to:

Sen. Mark Abraham, Rep. Roy Daryl Adams, Sen. Bret Allain, Rep. Beryl Amedee, Rep. Beau Beaullieu, Rep. Ryan Bourriaque, Rep. Ken Brass Rep. Chad Brown, Rep. Marcus Bryant, Rep. Dewith Carrier, Sen. Stewart Cathey, Sen. Page Cortez, Rep. Jean-Paul Coussan, Rep. Ray Crews, Rep. Paula Davis, Rep. Daryl Deshotel, Rep. Phillip DeVillier, Rep. Mary DuBuisson, Rep Michael Echols, Rep. Rick Edmonds, Rep. Kathy Edmonston, Rep. Julie Emerson, Rep. Les Farnum, Sen. Mike Fesi, Rep. Gabe Firment, Rep. Bryan Fontenot, Rep. Aimee Freeman, Rep. Larry Frieman, Rep. Foy Gadberry, Rep. Ray Garofalo, Rep. Jonathan Goudeau, Rep. Stephanie Hilferty, Rep. Valarie Hodges, Rep. Dodie Horton, Rep. Mike Huval, Rep. John Illg, Rep. Barry Ivey, Rep. Mike Johnson, Rep. C. Travis Johnson, Rep. Tim Kerner, Rep. Jeremy LaCombe, Rep. Vanessa LaFleur, Rep. Sherman Mack, Rep. Tanner Magee, Rep. Danny McCormick, Rep. Jack McFarland, Rep. Scott McKnight, Rep. Wayne McMahen, Sen. Patrick McMath, Rep. Blake Miguez, Sen. Barry Milligan, Rep. Buddy Mincey, Sen. Jay Morris, Rep. Joe Oregeron, Rep. Charles Owen, Rep. Robert Owen, Sen. Barrow Peacock, Rep. Thomas Pressly, Sen. Mike Reese, Rep. Neil Riser, Rep. Troy Romero, Rep. Rodney Schamerhorn, Rep. Clay Schexnayder, Rep. Laurie Schlegel, Rep. Alan Seabaugh, Rep. Vinney St. Blanc, Rep. Joe Stagni, Rep. John Stefanski, Sen. Jeremy Stine, Rep. Polly Thomas, Rep. Chris Turner, Rep. Debbie Villio, Rep. Bill Wheat, Rep. Malinda White, Rep. Mark Wright, and Rep. Jerome Zeringue.

LCSA extends its sincere appreciation to these dedicated individuals for their hard work and commitment to charter schools and education options for students. We also extend our gratitude to all school leaders, board members, business partners, and education stakeholders who work tirelessly to provide a high-quality education to Louisiana’s students.

As we move forward from the pandemic, it is more important than ever that we continue to prioritize education and provide students with the tools they need to succeed. We look forward to continuing to work with our legislative delegation to improve charter schools in our state.

Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you for your dedication to charter schools and education in Louisiana!